Day 6 of Honesty

Day 06 — My worst cooking disaster involved _____________ and this person/these people…

Haha, well you are in for a treat of some comedy… Because, I’d like to think I’m a good cook, but once there is some one (other than my mom and sis) with me in the kitchen it usually results in an EPIC failure…

The FIRST incident was in Grade 12, my (then) BF visited and I decided to treat him with my delicious chocolate cake… So I start baking, and then I realize we have no eggs, so we quickly walk to the shop, buy eggs and Caramel Treat to put on top and back to baking I go… Then I pour the batter into the pan, and just before I put it in, I realize the oven haven’t been preheated, so I pre heat the oven, letting the batter stand around for a few minutes. Then just before putting the cake in, I notice the oil on the table, and I remember I forgot the oil. So I add the oil, mix the batter in the cake pan. And finally the cake is into the oven. (After two hours). When I get it out of the oven, it is burned all around, and still raw in the middle…

So without a doubt the chocolate cake ended in the dustbin…

The SECOND incident was about a month or two ago, I decided to make Chicken Pie for the first time… My friend dropped by and we chatted in the kitchen while I made Pie..
The first thing that went wrong was me cutting my finger, while cutting up onions! After that got bandaged up, I began with the Pie making… Then I discovered that I forgot the other roll of Puff Pastry in the freezer!! So I put one pie (there was just enough pastry for one pie, but enough chicken for two….) Into the oven, and after defrosting the other pastry, I put the other pie into the oven… Round about there my friend left, and I breathed a sigh of relief, thinking my bad luck would end now. But, oh no, when I tried to get the pie out of the oven, something happened and it fell over. The whole pie in m oven-mitt hand…

At least we still had one other pie, and it was quite tasty…

But I now know that my cooking talents is not to be tested in front of an audience… (Which is why I will never be auditioning for Masterchef…)

Haha, hope you enjoyed that!

Love,
M*

13 thoughts on “Day 6 of Honesty

  1. the first time i baked it was fit for the bin too. oh well 😀 for the pie, at least you were able to enjoy a good one after!

    1. The funny thing is, usually my choc cake is delish! But that day, oh my gosh, it was a terrible disaster…
      Luckily the pie was still edible…

  2. Oh nooo I’ve had cake disasters similar too – I call them danger cakes. Sounds like you’ve got a bit of my luck, audiences make me nervous!

Leave a reply

