FWF – Coming back for you…

*A/N* For almost a year, I haven’t participated in the FWF going on over at Kellie’s. But last week I did it, and it opened up this flood of words in me, and I just couldn’t wait for the new prompt this week just so that I can write!!

Here is the link to the prompt, http://kellieelmore.com/2014/03/07/fwf-free-write-friday-image-prompt-16/ please have a look, enjoy and link me to your story in the comments! I would love to know what the house told you…

This house has a story…what is it?

Image Credit: We Heart It

Image Credit: We Heart It

 

With the truck fully loaded, he looks back at the old house in the woods… The house that kept all of his memories safe.
The good
The bad
The beautiful 
and the horrifyingly bad.
 
“Dad, let’s go!” 
He looks back at his girl sitting in the truck, his face almost as sad as his is. Becky… She looks so much like her mother that it hurts looking at her. 
“I’m coming…” 
 
He walks to the truck and pulls away, with a glance into the rearview mirror he spaces away, to all the times… 
 
*~*~*~*~*~
 
A silly girl leans over her crashed bicycle as he pulls of the road, silly because she is standing in the middle of the road. Not bothering to move out of the way, or bothering to hold down her skirt which keeps blowing up every now and then from the breeze. 
“Everything okay?” he asks through the window of his truck.
“Oh, simply perfect. You see, it is suppose to only have one wheel on and a broken chain. That’s how I bought it.”
He rolls his eyes at the cheeky remark of the petite redhead he’s been eyeing everyday on the beach. 
As he gets out of the truck he asks, “what did you do?”
“A bunny attacked me,” she says matter-of-factly, no sarcasm this time, “I swerved, I hit a rock, I fell and here we are…”
He frowns, waiting for a punchline, but non comes. A bunny attacked her…
“Thanks for stopping, but I’m fine, I will just go knock on that house over there and give my mom a call to come get me.”
She starts walking away from him, the amazingly sexy blonde surfer she has seen on the beach a few times now. And, of course, he chooses today to notice her.
“It’s empty… Been that way for years now.” He calls after her as he picks up the mangled bike and toss it onto the body of the truck with no effort at all.
“Hey! That’s mine!” She yells and run up to the truck.
“No shit, “he replies and opens up the passenger door for her, “get in, I’ll take it to the shop and drop you off.”
That was the first time they met, and for many years later, he could pinpoint the moment he fell in love to that second where she stood in front of him, not sure whether to get into his truck or not, but with that smile on her face that said, I trust you, I don’t like that I trust you, but I trust you.
 
*~*~*~*~*~*~*~
 
“A picnic? It’s our first date and you think a picnic is the answer?”
“I thought it was romantic!” He objected and lead her further down the little dirt path.
He finds the perfect spot of grass, throws open a blanket and pulls her down next to him..
it looks idyllic. Almost movie-like. The wildflowers dancing in the breeze, the sun setting and as a backdrop, the house in front of which they first met.
“Fine, it’s a little romantic… I love it.” She nudges up against him and gives him a kiss. 
He laughs and looks down at her in wonder. This girl is everything he has ever wanted out of life. And now summer is reaching an end. 
One more month and they are going back home. Far from each other… The past week, since they met, the spent every possible moment together, and fell in love. And tonight was their first official date. And he wanted to tell her how much he has grown to love her.
 
*~*~*~*~*~*~
 
“I’m not going home…” he tells her.
They are sitting in their favourite spot, an old swing-set in front of the empty, abandoned house and she is, in fact, going home tomorrow.
“Why?” she asks. Her voice soft, a tone he now knows as her ‘lets-keep-the-emotions-out’-voice.
He turns to her, “because, Rebecca. Home is so very far away from all the memories we made here. If I stay here, you will know here to come find me. When you realize that this was more than just a summer fling to me. My holiday job turned into a permanent job and I already got a flat out here. I can’t abandon the last few weeks… Even if I have to cherish them alone. “
She just sits. No response. Silently looking up at the spooky house who has watched over this summer fling, who saw every second of every moment that makes her want to cry now. Because it has to end.
“I can’t…….” she mutters and walks away.
 
*~*~*~*~*~*~
 
“Ethan?”
He looks up, the sun in his eyes, but he still recognizes her. He smiles, convinced it is just a dream like all the times he saw her since she left a year ago.
“You came?” Still unsure if she is real or not.
“We agreed, didn’t we? On our first date, to come back every year to watch the sunset.”
“You’re a bit late for the sunset…” he jokes and gestures towards the sunrise. Then he pulls her closer, finally convinced she is real. 
 
*~*~*~*~*~*~
 
She came back
She left
She came back
She left
the pattern never changed. 
But still Ethan stayed in the little seaside town where they first met. He couldn’t think of living somewhere else… One day she will realize that he really did love her, still do, and come back. Together they will buy The House and raise kids, and be happy… 
 
*~*~*~*~*~*~*
 
The day of her love finally came… Too late… 
Fifteen years after The First Date, she didn’t show. Not for sunrise, or sunset, or sunrise again. Ethan was convinced he has lost her forever. Then a girl comes walking out of the bushes, and he starts crying. Not because it is Rebecca. But because it isn’t… But she looks so much like the girl he met fifteen years ago.
“Don’t cry,” Not-Rebecca’s voice said, the same voice, just no sarcasm.
“Are you Ethan?” she then asks as she sits down next to him. 
He nods, yes…
“Then you are my father… I’m Becky.”
He looks at her, so together, so stable, so calm. 
“Becky… Rebecca…
“My mother.”
“Yes…”
A few seconds of stillness passes, then she hands him a sealed envelope. She left this for you…
 
Ethan, love…
i’m so very sorry
first, for not telling you about Becky. second, for being dead…
u see. i have cancer. had. 
but, at fifteen, when we met, i was in remission and so sure it would never come back. but it did… the cancer and the pregnancy came together… 
I wanted to stay, so badly. but how could i die on you?! how could i tell you you are gonna have a child, and then die on you, and probably take her with me?! I just couldn’t…
I couldn’t deal… I ran to my mom, told her everything. She helped me.
I survived the pregnancy, and the bout of cancer. After Becky was born I was back in remission, and while I finished school, Mom raised Becky. 
I moved out, I got a job. We had a good life.
I wanted to tell you so many times. 
Every time I got close to telling, I got scared. What if I die..
Five years ago, my cancer came back. Like a bitch… I got bad. VERY bad. 
We moved back to mom’s and she took over Becky’s care again. I hid all of it from you, so well… because I wanted you to have a life, to go on. But year after year after year after year you sat on that swing and waited for me to say that three words that ruin lives… i love you…
 
I couldn’t do that to you. 
 
I wrote Becky a letter as well, telling her about you, about us, about the 3rd of June. and about this spot. She only got her letter the day I died. I knew she would come looking for you, so I asked her to give you this. 
To remember
To never give up
to love
to forget
 
Buy our house, Ethan love.
Make it perfect. 
Have a life.
 
I have loved you since that first day, and will love you till my last… 
 
Always,
your rebecca
 

*~*~*~*~*~

“Dad! Watch where you’re going!”
Ethan snaps out of his memories and pulls of the road as he looks over at Becky, remembering Rebecca.
“Let me drive, dad. you get some sleep. You know how bad this week always is for you.”
 
Yes, it is, he thinks as he switches seats with his thirty year old daughter. Which is why she always gives up her summer holiday to come spend it with him at his house by the sea where he first met her mother. But this was the last one. It’s time for him to go on. To forget. To life.
 

A/N – And that’s what the house told me… the sadness he saw. the love. the happy. the bad. the ugly.

Love always, Marliz3e

 

Leave a reply

